On the 9th, 10th & 11th days of Christmas Insulin pumping gave to me….

…More new learning opportunities.

Day nine of my pump journey brings us to Friday 9th December. 9th-day-of-xmasToday was second set change day and I was going to be catching up with my DSN on the phone (a necessity of my care being in London and not Oxford and Imperial are so open to different methods of communicating if needed), to discuss how my first few days have gone. On Monday C had asked us to send her our log of BG results, boluses etc at the end of each day so I was looking forward to beginning to make some adjustments that would make a difference to the issues that brought me to IPT.

Before the call with C, I wanted to make sure I did my set change so I could feedback on 2 experiences. This time was both funny and painful…..and took 4 reservoirs, 3 infusion sets and all the will I could muster to carry on and not reach for my pens. The first issue I found was that I couldn’t draw up the insulin into the reservoir without air bubbles, I’d suddenly become super cack handed and I got really cross with myself because I was trying to rush it. So I took several deep breaths and tried again and on the 4th attempt I got a reservoir with no air bubbles, ready to be attached to the infusion set. The next step once the reservoir is in the pump and attached to the tubing and cannula is to insert the infusion set into me. The first one I drew back before I’d peeled off the backing of the dressing, I tried to unclip the cannula so that I could peel it off, but the darn thing wasn’t interested in cooperating! Onto the second one, I remembered to peel the backing off but I forgot to remove the needle guard. With the way things are going, of course I only realised this after I’d inserted the infusion set! In this instance it hurt like hell, but it didn’t “go in”. Third time was a charm, I remembered to remove both the backing and the needle guard.

The call with C went well, we made a few tweaks which I wasn’t sure of, but went with it with the knowledge that there’s much fine tuning to be done over the coming months. The biggest thing I took away from my conversation with C was that I acknowledged how much hard work I’ve put into keeping myself safe this past week. There were hypos and hypers and I dealt with them, avoiding hypo assistance and ketones altogether. In those moments I’d despaired and I’d forgotten to give myself a pat on the back for coming out the other side and C almost forced me realise it. I’d keep that praise with me for the coming weeks.

____________________

10th-day-of-xmasWithout going into too much detail about today’s pumpstart first, I’m instead going to direct you to some blogs that’ve been of interest in this particular experience.

A link to Ninjabetic’s article for Diabetes Times

A brief guide from Camille Peri on Web MD

Awesome vlog from Jen Grieves

The only thing I’ll add, is that when you look into the subject of Netflix and chilling or Amazon and hot water bottling; whatever you kids are calling it these days, with Diabetes in mind, turn to the Diabetes Online Community on Social Media (Twitter in particular – they love an opportunity for innuendo over there). When you google the subject you get instantly directed to a multitude of pieces about the complications associated with Diabetes and Sex and that’s not what I’m highlighting here, I’m highlighting that it’s entirely possible to enjoy sex, to be safe in terms of your Diabetes even if you do have a cannula and tubing to consider.

____________________

Day 11, a glorious winter Sunday. 11th-day-of-xmas The frost on the ground melts away by mid morning, but there’s something incredibly festive about seeing it look as if outside has had a dusting of snow whilst you sip your morning cuppa in the warmth of your living room. It was so obviously a perfect day to take Matt and Ruby to explore the town I live in and in the absence of flip flop weather, I do love a reason to get the wellies on!!

So off we went, on my first big walk since pumpstart began. I loaded up my walking coat with my BG tester, test strip pot, lancet and very importantly – a couple of tubes of dextrose tabs (although Ruby would argue the most important thing in my pocket were her tennis balls). It was a lovely walk, I felt the need to test a couple of times and I certainly had to take some dextrose tabs to prevent a hypo. All in all though – a very successful walk.

img_6720
Castle Meadows  – Plenty of castle ruins dotted about for those into Saxon history

I have to admit to having moments of struggling since pumpstart, as you’ll see more extensively on Day 12. But for now I’m looking back at some pretty incredible moments over the beginning of a month I thought I’d be desperate to see the back of, instead I’m cherishing it……even the not so pleasant bits.

All images are copyright Discombobulated Diabetic and Google Images.
Leave a Reply

